Blooms digital taxonomy

Since the training is for certification purposes, a keyword regarding Bloom’s Taxonomy was released. Is this your first time hearing? same … so want to know what Bloom Taxonomy is.

Bloom’s Taxonomy refers to taxonomies created for educational purposes. This taxonomy was first obtained by Benjamin S. Bloom in 1956. In this case, the purpose of education was divided into several domains (domains, regions) and each domain was subdivided into more detailed divisions based on hierarchy.

Educational objectives are divided into three domains, namely:

Cognitive Domain (Cognitive Domain) , which contains behaviors that emphasize intellectual aspects, such as knowledge, understanding, and thinking skills.

Affective Domain  contains behaviors that emphasize aspects of feelings and emotions, such as interests, attitudes, appreciation, and ways of adjustment.

Psychomotor Domain  contains behaviors that emphasize aspects of motor skills such as handwriting, typing, swimming, and operating machines.

Some other terms that also describe the same thing with the three domains include the one expressed by Ki Hajar Dewantoro, namely: copyright, taste, and intention. In addition, also known terms: reasoning, appreciation, and practice.

From each of these domains it is divided back into several categories and subcategories which are in a hierarchical (stratified) sequence, ranging from simple behavior to the most complex behavior. Behavior in each level is assumed to include also behavior from lower levels, such as in the cognitive domain, to reach “understanding” that is in the second level also requires “knowledge” that is in the first level.

Cognitive Domain

Bloom divides the domain of cognition into 6 levels. This domain consists of two parts: The first part is Knowledge (category 1) and the second part is Intellectual Skills and Skills (categories 2-6)


Contains the ability to recognize and remember terms, definitions, facts, ideas, patterns, sequences, methodologies, basic principles, etc. For example, when asked to explain quality management, people at this level can describe well the definition of quality, quality characteristics of products, minimum quality standards for products.


Contains the ability to demonstrate facts and group ideas by organizing, comparing, translating, interpreting, giving descriptions, and stating the main ideas

Questions like: Comparing the health benefits of consuming apples and oranges

Application (Application)

At this level, a person has the ability to apply ideas, procedures, methods, formulas, theories, etc. in working conditions. For example, when given information about the causes of increased rejects in production, someone who is at the application level will be able to summarize and illustrate the causes of the decline in quality in the form of fish bone diagrams.

Analysis (Analysis)

At the analysis level, a person will be able to analyze incoming information and divide or structure information into smaller sections to identify patterns or relationships, and be able to recognize and distinguish the causes and effects of a complex scenario. For example, at this level a person will be able to sort out the causes of increasing rejects, compare the severity of each cause, and classify each cause into the severity caused.

Synthesis (Synthesis)

One level above the analysis, someone at the synthesis level will be able to explain the structure or pattern of a scenario that was not seen before, and be able to recognize the data or information that must be obtained to produce the solutions needed. For example, at this level a quality manager is able to provide solutions to reduce the level of reject in production based on his observations of all the causes of the decline in product quality.


Recognized by the ability to provide an assessment of solutions, ideas, methodologies, etc. by using suitable criteria or existing standards to ensure the value of effectiveness or benefits. For example, at this level a quality manager must be able to assess suitable alternative solutions to be carried out based on effectiveness, urgency, benefit value, economic value, etc.

Affective Domain

This domain division was compiled by Bloom together with David Krathwol.

Receiving / Attending

Willingness to be aware of a phenomenon in their environment. In teaching the form is to get attention, maintain it, and direct it.

Responses (Responding)

Give reactions to phenomena that exist in their environment. Includes approval, willingness, and satisfaction in providing responses.

Award (Valuing)

Relating to the price or value applied to an object, phenomenon, or behavior. Judgment is based on the internalization of a certain set of values ​​that are expressed into behavior.

Organizing (Organization)

Integrate different values, resolve conflicts between them, and form a consistent value system.

Characterization Based on Values ​​(Characterization by a Value or Value Complex)

Having a value system that controls his behavior so that it becomes a characteristic of his lifestyle.

Psychomotor Domain

Details in this domain were not made by Bloom, but by other experts based on domains that Bloom created.


The use of sensory devices to become a guide in helping movement.

Readiness (Set)

Physical, mental, and emotional readiness for movement.

Guided Response

The initial stage in learning complex skills, including imitation and trial and error.


Familiarize the movements that have been learned so that they appear convincingly and competently.

Complex Look Response (Complex Overt Response)

Skilled motor movements which consist of complex patterns of movement.


Skills that have been developed so that they can be adapted to various situations.

Creation (Origination)

Create new movement patterns that are tailored to certain situations, conditions or problems.

[pdf-embedder url=”” title=”Taksonomi Bloom”]




When using Bloom’s Digital Taxonomy, it helps to have a list of verbs to know what actions define each stage of the taxonomy. This is useful for lesson planning, rubric making, and any other teacher-oriented task requiring planning and assessment strategies. That’s why Wabisabi Learning has updated and re-released this Bloom’s Digital Taxonomy Verbs Poster just for you.

The Bloom’s Digital Taxonomy verbs in this handy resource apply specifically to each stage of the taxonomy. They progress from LOTS (lower-order thinking skills) to the HOTS (higher-order thinking skills). It’s an eye-catching  and informative resource that will make a great professional print for the wall in your office or your classroom. It’s the ultimate Bloom’s quick-reference tool for rubric design, lesson planning, and more.

A Quick Reference Tool for Bloom’s Taxonomy Verbs

Bloom’s Revised Taxonomy describes many traditional classroom practices, behaviours and actions, but doesn’t necessarily account for the new processes and actions associated with newer emerging education technologies. This means the verbs listed below are applicable to facilitating technology use in modern classrooms.

This Bloom’s Digital Taxonomy Verbs Poster is great for:

  • Understanding Bloom’s Digital Taxonomy
  • Discovering and referencing action verbs
  • Developing descriptive rubrics
  • Top-notch lesson planning
  • Expanding your Bloom’s vocabulary

We hope you find this infographic of Bloom’s Digital Taxonomy verbs useful in your classroom practices. Please feel free to share it with colleagues you feel may benefit from having a list of taxonomy verbs.


This post is also available in: Indonesian

Silakan berikan komentar, pertanyaan, maupun sanggahan. InsyaAllah dibalas secepatnya.